The Hunger Games, Book Review

The Hunger Games, Book Review

Now, I’m sure sales have went up for Suzanne Collins’ book ever since the action movie came out. If you’re in between not getting the book and just leaving the movie the way it was, or actually reading it and finally getting some answers.

I’ve been reading books ever since I was little and American Girl books took me a week to finish, so the book only took me two days to complete.

The start of the book is very much like the start of the movie, you get a good look at the Seam and then there’s Katniss’ and Gale’s conversation about running off into the woods forever. But, as I’ve already said, I believe Katniss got her mockingjay pin from the Hob (which is the black market in the Seam), not Madge.

A good third of the book is spent at the Capitol (including the train). The big bulk of the book is actually in the Arena. And for those of you that think that all three books are going to be stretched across this one Arena, you’d be wrong.

There are three parts to the book. I forget the names, but I think the first one was called The Reaping.

The main thing I noticed when I was reading the book was how I constantly changed the words because it’s really in-the-now. Example: I shoot an arrow at the Careers, instead of I shot an arrow at the Careers. I changed it because I’m not used to that particular style of writing that Suzanne Collins does perfectly.

All in all it was a good book. And if you have experience in reading, don’t judge it by its thickness, like I said I finished it two days.
                                                                                                                                                        -Therese

Leave a Reply

